Spread the love


Pyramaze is a Danish Power Metal band who have more than a touch of Progressive Rock about it. Their 2020 album ‘Epitaph’ was in my top ten records of that year and it’s always been a surprise to me that they aren’t more well-known and popular amongst Rock music fans. Terje Haroy is one of the best singers around and it amazes me that more people aren’t shouting his name from the rooftops. So, the big question here is have the band managed to follow the high standards of their previous album?

Well, I’m pleased to report that they have. ‘Bloodlines’ is easily the equivalent of ‘Epitaph’ and is a record full of big songs, immaculate vocal performances from both the main man and guest singers and fabulous musicianship from everyone involved.

I’ve no doubt this will be in my top ten of 2023 and you should consider adding this one to your permanent collection, it’s that good. The album starts with ‘Bloodlines’, a two-minute introduction to the proceedings which is both ominous and beautiful before we are into the first track proper, ‘Taking What’s Mine’. This is an absolute powerhouse of a song with emotive vocals and a huge chorus alongside complex and immediate arrangements.

The band have already set a high bar with this track and there’s much more to follow. Next up is ‘’Fortress’ and a cinematic opening leads into a classic fast-paced Power Metal song, full of just the right amount of pomposity but never crossing the line into cheese.

‘Broken Arrow’ follows and is another immediate and intense piece of work with great guitar work from Jacob Hansen (son of Kai) with a pounding backline providing able support. ‘Even If Your Gone’ with its piano accompaniment and slightly deeper vocal is the closest to Progressive Rock on the album but all the while it retains a heavier cutting edge than most in that genre.

‘Alliance’ starts with a beautiful orchestral opening and is the ballad of the album, with the singer getting the opportunity to show how fabulous a vocalist he is. Melissa Bonny from Ad Infinitum supplies the female vocal on this song and the result is a stunning success for all involved.

‘The Midnight Sun’ picks the pace up and is the band at full throttle. Heavy but melodic, the song is a delight and things continue in a similar vein with what for me is the catchiest and most immediate track on the album, ‘Stop The Bleeding’. ‘

The Mystery starts with another bewitching piano opening and has a touch of the “madrigal” about it and is another song of the highest quality. ‘Wolves Of The Sea’ is the album closer and is a suitably fitting masterful and cinematic instrumental track to end the proceedings here.

This is a stunning album full of great songs and is “all killer and no filler” as they say. If you like Power Metal or you like Prog Rock it doesn’t get any better than this.


Terje Haroy – Vocals

Morten Gade Sorensen – Drums

Jacob Hansen – Guitar/Bass Guitar

Jonah Weingarten – Keyboards


  1. Bloodlines
  2. Taking What’s Mine
  3. Fortress
  4. Broken Arrow
  5. Even If You’re Gone
  6. Alliance
  7. The Midnight Sun
  8. Stop The Bleeding
  9. The Mystery
  10. Wolves Of The Sea

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours