A Decade of Folk Punk Brilliance: Black Water County’s ‘The Only Life Worth Living’

Spread the love

Release Date: November 3rd, 2023

Review By Glen Parkes

Black Water County’s highly anticipated new album, ‘The Only Life Worth Living,’ is a thrilling testament to their decade-long journey in the world of folk-punk music. With the recent release of the single “Second Guessing” (featuring Hannah Greenwood), this album is already promising to be a magnificent addition to their discography.

‘The Only Life Worth Living’ is a ten-track masterpiece that encapsulates the essence of Black Water County’s exceptional growth and storytelling prowess. The album is not just a celebration of their history but also a forward-looking exploration of what the next ten years may bring for the band. As they have done consistently throughout their career, Black Water County blends folk and punk elements seamlessly, creating a unique sound that stands as a testament to their passion for their craft.

The single, “Second Guessing,” featuring the incredibly talented Hannah Greenwood, is an early glimpse into what the album has to offer. The track oozes with infectious energy and showcases Black Water County’s ability to craft meaningful lyrics and memorable melodies. Hannah Greenwood’s collaboration with the band adds a delightful layer of depth to the song, making it an unforgettable experience.

Black Water County’s signature raw and authentic approach to storytelling is prevalent throughout ‘The Only Life Worth Living.’ Every track is a sonic journey, painting vivid pictures with their lyrics. From the anthemic and rebellious “Here We Are Again ” to the introspective and heartfelt “Before Things Get Worse ” the album takes listeners on a rollercoaster of emotions and experiences. It’s a testament to the band’s songwriting talent that they can capture such a range of feelings within a single album.

While the album honours their roots and where they’ve been, it’s equally clear that Black Water County is eager to explore new horizons. ‘The Only Life Worth Living’ feels like a transition, a bridge between the band’s past and their future. It’s not just an album; it’s a statement that the journey is far from over, and there are exciting roads yet to be travelled.

As we await the full release of ‘The Only Life Worth Living’ on November 3rd, it’s clear that Black Water County is ready to continue its journey with the same passion and energy that has endeared it to fans for over a decade. The album promises to be a fantastic addition to their already impressive catalogue, and it’s a must-listen for anyone who appreciates the fusion of folk and punk with heart and soul. This November, Black Water County invites us to embark on the only life worth living, one filled with electrifying music and the promise of a bright future.


01 The Only Life Worth Living
02 Cruel State Of Mind
03 Here We Are Again
04 Escape
05 Disasters
06 Questions
07 The Archives
08 Before Things Get Worse
09 Second Guessing (ft Hannah Greenwood)
10 Limelight

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours