Steve Hackett Announces New Concept Album ‘The Circus and The Nightwhale’

Spread the love

Renowned rock guitarist Steve Hackett has confirmed the release of his highly anticipated studio album, ‘The Circus And The Nightwhale’, scheduled to launch on February 16th, 2024, via InsideOut Music. This latest musical endeavor presents a rite-of-passage concept album, centred around the character of Travla, delving into a narrative that intertwines autobiographical elements. Hackett shares his sentiment about his 30th solo release, stating, “I love this album. It says the things I’ve been wanting to say for a very long time.”

Following a two-year hiatus, ‘The Circus And The Nightwhale’ marks Steve’s return with 13 tracks promising a diverse sonic landscape including ballads, blues, blistering progressive rock, and elements of theatre and fantasia.

Recorded intermittently between tours in 2022 and 2023 at Siren studio in the UK, the album boasts a stellar lineup featuring collaborations from artists spanning Sweden, Austria, the US, Azerbaijan, and Denmark. Joining Hackett are familiar faces such as Roger King on keyboards and orchestral arrangements, Rob Townsend on sax, Jonas Reingold on bass, Nad Sylvan on vocals, Craig Blundell on drums, Amanda Lehmann on vocals, and returning guests Nick D’Virgilio and Hugo Degenhardt on the drum stool. Additionally, engineer Benedict Fenner contributes on keyboards, while Malik Mansurov reprises his role with the tar. Notably, Steve’s brother John Hackett adds his flute expertise to the album.

The album will be available for pre-order starting December 1st, 2023, offering various formats including a Limited CD+Blu-ray media book featuring 5.1 Surround Sound & 24-bit high-resolution stereo mixes, Standard CD Jewelcase, Gatefold 180g Vinyl LP, and Digital Album, all showcasing the mesmerizing cover art by Denise Marsh.

‘The Circus And The Nightwhale’ Tracklisting:

  1. People Of The Smoke
  2. These Passing Clouds
  3. Taking You Down
  4. Found And Lost
  5. Enter The Ring
  6. Get Me Out!
  7. Ghost Moon and Living Love
  8. Circo Inferno
  9. Breakout
  10. All At Sea
  11. Into The Nightwhale
  12. Wherever You Are
  13. White Dove

Describing the album’s essence, Steve Hackett remarks, “It’s a lovely journey that starts dirty, scratchy and smoky and becomes heavenly and divine. How can you resist it?”

Currently touring in North America with the ‘Foxtrot At Fifty + Hackett Highlights’ show, Hackett’s upcoming plans include an extensive world tour in 2024. This includes a new UK tour titled ‘Genesis Greats, Lamb Highlights & Solo,’ which will feature a return to the prestigious Royal Albert Hall, along with additional ‘Foxtrot At Fifty’ shows in the US from March 1st through April 13th. For a comprehensive list of tour dates, please visit:

For media inquiries, interviews, or further information, please contact: [Your Media Contact Information]

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours