Album Review: “The Deacon Speaks” by Steve ‘Deacon’ Hunter

Spread the love

Review By Glen Parkes

Renowned Guitar Player Steve ‘Deacon’ Hunter finds his voice on his latest contemporary blues album, aptly titled “The Deacon Speaks”. At 75, Hunter has embarked on a new creative journey, showcasing his vocal talents alongside his exceptional guitar skills. Known for his work with legends like Alice Cooper, Lou Reed, and Peter Gabriel, Hunter’s venture into the blues genre is a refreshing revelation.

“The Deacon Speaks” is a mesmerizing collection of tracks that blend covers and original compositions seamlessly, delivering a bluesy, moody, and vibe-drenched experience. Hunter’s voice, reminiscent of a fusion between Dr. John and Tom Waits, adds a new dimension to his music, exuding character, insight, and the wisdom of his years in the industry.

The album kicks off with a powerful rendition of Willie Dixon’s “Back Door Man”, setting the tone for what’s to come. Hunter’s original compositions such as “Tiresome Blues” and “The Ballad of John Henry Gates” showcase his songwriting prowess, while covers like Jimi Hendrix’s “Up from the Skies” and Lou Reed’s “Sweet Jane” pay homage to his diverse influences.

Throughout the album, Hunter’s guitar playing remains exceptional, characterized by tone, dynamics, skill, and an innate sense of space. Despite his illustrious history in rock and roll, his love for the blues shines through in every note, demonstrating a deep-rooted connection to the genre.

Highlighted by guest appearances from notable musicians and a stellar production quality, “The Deacon Speaks” is a testament to Hunter’s enduring talent and his ability to evolve creatively. Bob Ezrin’s praise of the album as “a wonderful piece of work” resonates deeply, reflecting the sheer brilliance encapsulated within its tracks.

In summary, “The Deacon Speaks” is a must-listen for blues enthusiasts and music aficionados alike. With Hunter at the helm, this album serves as a testament to the timeless allure of the blues and the enduring legacy of a true guitar virtuoso.


  1. Back Door Man (Willie Dixon) – 4:44
  2. Tiresome Blues (Steve Hunter) – 5:07
  3. Independent Soul (Karen Hunter) – 3:40
  4. The Ballad of John Henry Gates (Steve Hunter) – 4:45
  5. Annabel’s Blues (Steve Hunter) – 2:30
  6. Up from the Skies (Jimi Hendrix) – 5:12
  7. Sweet Jane (Lou Reed) – 4:53
  8. Waiting on a Friend (Rolling Stones) – 4:45
  9. Who is He and What is He to You (Bill Withers) – 4:19
  10. In a Lonely Place (Steve Hunter) – 4:46
  11. To purchase:
  12. For more information:

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours