‘Hyperdrama'” by Justice (Starring Tame Impala)

Spread the love

Exploring the Cosmic Fusion of Dance and Melancholy

Review By Glen Parkes

“‘Hyperdrama’,” the latest offering from Justice, emerges as a celestial symphony of dancefloor anthems and introspective melodies. With a stellar lineup of collaborators, including Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker, Justice crafts an album that seamlessly melds the raw energy of gabber with the smooth allure of disco, creating a sonic landscape that is as captivating as it is immersive.

The album opens with the titular track, “Neverender,” setting the stage with its infectious pop sensibilities and filtered French Touch aesthetics. Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker lends his unmistakable vocals, infusing the song with a melancholic yet euphoric vibe that perfectly complements Justice’s signature sound. It’s a bold introduction that immediately grabs the listener’s attention, promising a journey through realms of both light and darkness.

As the album progresses, tracks like “Generator” and “Afterimage” showcase Justice’s mastery of genre-blending, effortlessly fusing elements of gabber, disco, and electronica into a cohesive sonic tapestry. The guest appearances of artists like Rimon and The Flints add depth and dimension to the album, further enriching its emotional resonance.

“One Night/All Night,” another standout track featuring Tame Impala, exemplifies Justice’s ability to seamlessly blend disparate influences into a cohesive whole. With its dancefloor-oriented beat and devilishly funky break, the song invites listeners to lose themselves in its hypnotic groove, while Kevin Parker’s honey-sweet vocals add a layer of intimacy and longing.

Throughout “‘Hyperdrama’,” Justice demonstrates a willingness to push the boundaries of their sound, experimenting with unconventional song structures and unexpected sonic textures. Tracks like “Dear Alan” and “Muscle Memory” showcase the duo’s penchant for innovation, incorporating elements of French Touch, electro-soul, and experimental electronica into their trademark sound.

The album reaches its climax with “The End,” a collaboration with Thundercat that serves as a fitting conclusion to the cosmic journey that is “‘Hyperdrama’.” With its apocalyptic soul-infused cadence and thunderous gabber beats, the song encapsulates the album’s themes of introspection and transformation, leaving listeners spellbound until the very end.

“‘Hyperdrama'” is a triumph of exploration and emotional depth, showcasing Justice’s evolution as artists while staying true to their roots. With its stellar lineup of collaborators and genre-defying sound, the album is a testament to the power of music to transcend boundaries and connect listeners on a profound level.

Justice – ‘Hyperdrama’ 

1. Neverender (with Tame Impala)

2. Generator

3. Afterimage  (with Rimon)

4. One Night/All Night (with Tame Impala)

5. Dear Alan

6. Incognito

7. Mannequin Love  (with The Flints)

8. Moonlight Rendez-Vous

9. Explorer  (with Connan Mockasin)

10. Muscle Memory

11. Harpy Dream

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours