Circuline’s “C.O.R.E.”: A Prog Rock Journey You Can’t Miss

Spread the love

Prog Ensemble Circuline’s highly anticipated new album “C.O.R.E.” is finally here, and it’s a must-listen for fans of the genre. Released on the Inner Nova Music label on September 20th, 2024, this album marks a significant evolution for the band, combining their signature progressive sound with fresh, innovative elements that appeal to both die-hard fans and newcomers alike.

A Year-Long Celebration

Circuline’s 2024 “C.O.R.E.” Virtual Tour began on January 12th, 2024, and promises an engaging experience with 57 events spanning 48 weeks. The tour features single releases, lyric videos, official videos, behind-the-scenes content, and livestream Q&A events. Keyboardist Andrew Colyer shares the band’s goals: “We want to get our music exposed to as many people as possible and deepen our relationships with our most passionate fans.”

In-House Creativity and Collaborative Spirit sound, bringing a unique edge to several tracks.

The Making of “C.O.R.E.”

Written and recorded between 2018 and 2023, “C.O.R.E.” is a product of meticulous in-house creativity. Primary songwriters Andrew Colyer, Darin Brannon, and Natalie Brown crafted the majority of the material, with significant contributions from Billy Spillane and Matt Dorsey. Alek Darson’s invaluable input during the writing and arranging stages, along with new perspectives from Shelby and Dave, shaped the album’s unique sound. Guest artist Joe Deninzon adds a distinctive flair with his electric violin parts, enriching the album’s texture.

Focusing on Songwriting

Andrew Colyer explains the band’s approach to “C.O.R.E.”: “Since the music is the easiest part of the writing for us, we focused on the songwriting—the lyrics and melodies. That’s the hardest part for us, which is one of the many reasons it took so long to finish the record.” The band’s effort to create shorter, radio-friendly pop-rock songs, alongside their natural long-form storytelling, results in an eclectic mix that broadens their appeal.

Track-by-Track Exploration

  1. Tempus Horribilis (6:22) – A proggy epic reflecting on the turbulent times we’ve been living in, setting the tone for the album.
  2. Third Rail (4:20) – A concise, sharp track addressing hazardous topics in relationships.
  3. Say Their Name (6:18) – A blend of Steven Wilson and Pierre Moerlin’s Gong influences, creating a haunting and memorable piece.
  4. All (7:54) – Co-written with Matt Dorsey, this track is a complex prog epic that showcases the band’s storytelling prowess.
  5. Temporal Thing (5:51) – A song exploring the ambivalence in long-term relationships, filled with emotional depth.
  6. You (6:22) – A dark and introspective track, showcasing the band’s ability to tackle heavy themes.
  7. Blindside (6:08) – Another collaboration with Matt Dorsey, delivering a powerful ballad anthem.
  8. Transmission Error (9:23) – The album closes with a 10-minute prog epic about relationships, self-discovery, or space creatures—it’s open to interpretation.

A New Era for Circuline

With “C.O.R.E.,” Circuline has crafted an eclectic and ambitious album that bridges the gap between classic progressive rock and contemporary sensibilities. Their innovative approach to engaging with fans through a comprehensive virtual tour, combined with their commitment to artistic growth, ensures that “C.O.R.E.” will resonate with both longtime followers and new listeners alike. As they continue to evolve and expand their reach, Circuline remains a formidable force in the progressive rock landscape.


“C.O.R.E.” is a dedication to their craft. By blending elements of modern and classic progressive rock, the band has created an album that is both familiar and innovative. Whether you’re a long-time fan or new to their music, “C.O.R.E.” is an album that demands attention and deserves a place in your collection. So, roll down those windows, turn up the volume, and embark on this exhilarating musical journey with Circuline.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours